I’m My Best Cheerleader

It’s grey and rainy in Cleveland this morning. Dark clouds fill the atmosphere. I’m sitting at my dining room table with a mug of coffee to warm me up and the undeniable energy of the Space Jam theme motivating me to do anything but sleep.

This is a change of pace for me. Ever since Lena started her new schedule, I’ve been trying to harness the quiet of the morning. The stillness. So much of my life is filled with racing around and being productive that it can be just as rewarding to sit a few plays out and drink a cup of coffee to the Space Jam theme in your underwear.

I have been racing around, though. In every sense of the phrase. I logged exactly 100 miles for the month of March and am on pace to run more than 120 miles this month. Quiet moments like this morning allow me to reflect on just how much work I’ve put in. I’m the first person to dismiss my accomplishments. I’m the last person to recognize their merits.

But all of this is subjective and personal. My goals aren’t the goals of others. Nor would I tell other people to strive for my goals. Nor is there a standard for achievement. What works for me or is appealing to me or motivates me is mine. It’s something I’ve had to remember when talking to other people about my health and fitness goals. Sometimes it’s hard not to project, but I want to be an ally; not just to this group or that group but to everyone.

Reading Aubrey Gordon’s “What We Don’t Talk About When We Talk About Fat” has been an eye-opening experience. It has me thinking about “concern” and how far the boundaries of this idea reach. Is health a moralistic issue? It’s no secret that American culture covets the thin and fit. But if we’re to truly celebrate our bodies, we should be coveting all shapes and sizes. We should be able to be ourselves.

For me it means running an average of five miles a day over the last seven weeks. For me it means pumping out sub-7:00/mile paces in training. For me it means watching my salt intake and making sure I get enough B vitamins, protein, and water.

This is me.

Find your you.

Leave a comment